HELP...........blurry pictures

Furby

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello to everyone and I hope I'm not too amateur to be here, I found this forum after googling for help with a photography problem I have and thought I'd register and see if anyone can help me.

Okay, my problem is blurry pictures. I'm pretty certain it isn't camera shake as I have the problem when shooting at a 200th with flash and from what I've read camera shake is very unlikely at such speed. I have a Canon 30D digital camera that I have recently got and I'm new to photography. If I am shooting close up pictures then all seems well, I also seem to be doing ok when using the centre focusing point, but the problems come when I use any other AF point. Let us say for instance I'm taking a picture of someone full length, so I have the camera sideways and select the top AF point so as to get the persons face in focus, I position to get the selected AF point on the persons face, it flashes red and shot is taken, but virtually every time without fail the persons face will be blurry (it is very frustrating). Can someone please tell me what am I doing wrong or is there fault with the camera? It is wierd but sometimes although the persons face will be blurry what's around the person may be in focus, which is so strange and leaves me feeling the camera has a mind of it's own.

Welcome to the forum.

I would probably help if you could show up some examples and include the EXIF data (aperture, shutter speed, ISO, mode, lens used, focus mode etc)

At 1/200 with a lens of moderate length, you shouldn't have too much camera shake...but it's still possible.

Can you get it to focus accurately by using the centre focus point and recomposing? Personally, I never use the other focus points. In the scenario you described, I would use the centre focus point to focus on the person's eyes/face and then recompose the shot without focusing again (lock the focus) then shoot.