HELP ... Canon XT, XTi, D40 or D80

00bolt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im an amateur wanting to upgrade from my S2. I really want to get SLR, but dont want to spend a fortune. My *plan* was to buy an SLR camera body with a kit lens. Then later down road once I start to get better and NEED extra lenses, buy them...

but since im so new, im almost clueless. Iv looked at review after review and most the technical terms dont mean much to me right now. I notice the D80 is probably the best of the bunch, but of course the most expensive...

Id like to spend no more than $1000 for everything, body, lens, etc... But then I notice so many different lens options. I dont really need to blow up my pictures to poster sizes, in fact Id prolly never really do over 5x7 for the most part. But who knows, may want to do bigger one of the kids one day if turned out okay...

So here is basically my wants/needs

1. under $1000 for entire package
2. want body to be new enough I wont outgrow anytime soon
3. 90% of pictures will be of kids, family, birthdays, etc... but occasional landscape, vacation, etc pictures.
4. more interested in quality over MP size
5. like a lens that is versitle, can do close up and zoom out to birds, etc further away

p.s. i notice most these kit lenses are less than 200mm. My Canon S2 right now is like 432mm, does that mean they only zoom about half as much as my S2?

Youll definitely be able to get a D40 w/ a lens for under 1000, but you should definitely read up on its "limitations" versus other dSLR cameras. It's definitely the little brother, get your feet weet of Nikon's D-line.

The D80 IS good, but then so are the others. They will all do what youre no doubt looking to do - take sweet amaetuer photos. There are differences of course, but for the average non-pro user - they are pointless.