Help choosing a camera

jisel2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm new to photography. I want to purchase an inexpensive camera that will be good for both still pictures (photo shoots, events, etc) and shooting videos. Can anyone steer me in the right direction?

1) What is your budget?
2) What sort of camera would you like? Does it have to be small and compact? Do you want a DSLR? Are you okay with switching lenses?
3) If you do want a DSLR, do you want different lenses?
4) Are you at all interested in, or willing to, pay for and learn to use photo editing software on your computer?
5) What is your intended use with this camera? Photo shoots, events, and shooting videos entails a lot of things. Is this for hobby photography?
6) Are you at all willing to learn how to use the camera? Primarily this means learning how to set your shutter speed, ISO, and aperture values (knowing how these manage your exposure, and how each component influences the final image).

If you aren't interested in using photo software, and you don't want to learn how to use the camera, then a GoPro plus something like a Nikon CoolPix P900 might be a good combination.

If you are interested in learning all the ins and outs, there are lots of DSLR options, and again that comes down to budget and what lenses you can afford within that budget.

1) What is your budget?
2) What sort of camera would you like? Does it have to be small and compact? Do you want a DSLR? Are you okay with switching lenses?
3) If you do want a DSLR, do you want different lenses?
4) Are you at all interested in, or willing to, pay for and learn to use photo editing software on your computer?
5) What is your intended use with this camera? Photo shoots, events, and shooting videos entails a lot of things. Is this for hobby photography?