Help! First 35mm SLR for college freshman photo major

ignite

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a photographer that has pretty much only worked with my Canon Digital Rebel I bought a couple years back. I'm upgrading my digital to a Nikon D200 soon..

So I got accepted to quite a few art schools on the east coast. Where I'm going I have really no idea, but I know I need to purchase a 35mm SLR. Honestly, I've never worked with film before, besides a crappy photo highschool course where we accessed the darkroom once a week for 10 minutes.

I'd like to think I'm a pretty decent photographer, and I did get accepted to these schools based on an all-digital portfolio, but I'll obviously be working a lot in film come September, when my freshman year at college begins.

My question is, what kind of camera and lens should I be purchasing as a college freshman photo major? Price isn't much a worry, but I can't dish out 4,000 for a Leica. I was looking at the Nikon FM3a.. B&H sells it as a kit with Nikon 45mm f/2.8 P AIS Manual Focus Lens, for about 900 dollars. It looks like a solid camera..

Then there is the newer Nikon F100, an autofocus SLR.. a bit pricier, and I'd purchase a separate lens.

Any input would be great from ANYONE who works with film or has gone to art school as a photography major. I need to buy the camera to start practicing, and for a summer course I'm taking at the Maine Photographic Workshops..

Help? :)