Help improve my images?

ihsmendez

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all! I am wanting to get into photography a lot more (especially with spring just around the corner)! This is my first post on this forum and i'm hoping to be a long-term member! :) I am brand new with photography so go easy on me :p Now, to the problem at hand!

I took a (what I thought to be) cool image, or good image idea. Here it is:

Gravel Road Flickr - Photo Sharing

Here's some info on my camera.
Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T5
Lens: canon ef 75mm-300mm (used to shoot this image) and the stock
18-55 IS II lens the camera (I bought my camera with the other lens from QVC)

I took this photo at f/32 at 2.5sec. exposure time. it isn't as sharp as I thought it would look (maybe because I fucused the wrong thing?). I have photoshop CS6 and i've been playing around with it but I have no idea what to do to make this image look... better, or cool. I guess my question is, is there anything I can do in post to make this shot more, dramatic?
Also, I didn't know how to compensate for the bright sunset... I figured if I set my shutter speed to the sunset the foreground would be waaayyyy too dark.. Any tips would be awesome!! Thanks!

Welcome!

To shoot at the sun and hold the shutter that long, you would throw on a ND filter and open up the aperture. Did you shoot this on a tripod? If not, that would be your first problem. You should also shoot in raw if you want to post. You start in lightroom then go to photoshop if needed.

Oh shoot, I forgot to mention that info!
Yes, I did use a tripod and yes I do shoot in RAW format. I guess it was a bit windy that day, and the straps don't help either..

If I toss a ND filter onto the lens wouldn't the sunset be still brighter than the foreground? or does it kind of equal out and lesson the contrast between the two?

Definitely need to open up the aperture regardless.