Help in choosing a tripod?

joeysmom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi again...so my hubby wanted to buy camera stuff for me for Christmas, but when he went shopping with the girls was flabbergasted. He can barely shoot a good snapshot, so he had no idea what to look for.

I decided to get a tripod and read that getting a ballhead tripod is best. There is too much out there to choose from and such a broad price range. Can you give me suggestions? I am a hobby photographer and we definitely aren't rich, but also don't want to get something that won't get the job done. Mostly I shoot portraits of my kids, friends and family activities. Thanks in advance!~ Oh, I have a Nikon D5000, and just have what came with it from Costco.

Hope everyone is having a fabulous holiday season...

deb

What is your total budget for the tripod!! if you go too cheap it won't last and you won't need anything to heavyduty!! I personally would recommend the Manfrotto 190XPROB its an amazing tripod and I love it! look into all the different ballheads that can go with it and see which one you like best personally! I personally got the trigger mechanism one due to its ease of use but thats a personal choice!!!! good luck!

What is your total budget for the tripod!! if you go too cheap it won't last and you won't need anything to heavyduty!! I personally would recommend the Manfrotto 190XPROB its an amazing tripod and I love it! look into all the different ballheads that can go with it and see which one you like best personally! I personally got the trigger mechanism one due to its ease of use but thats a personal choice!!!! good luck!
I've got the same set-up. I think if the OP will use the search feature, they will find a wealth of information on this forum, for tripod's in all categories of cost/function/etc..

J.