Help...infor on 50 mm lens

bunny99123

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
HI,
I have read several individuals on the forum say they use a 50mm lens for portrait shots. I am learning about lens, and I have found a 156114 MINOLTA MAXXUM 50MM F/1.7 SONY ALPHA AUTOFOCUS MOUNT LENS for $50 on Ebay. It does come with a 90 days warranty. Do you use this lens a lot or am I wasting my money? I am just learning about length from a person associated with focal length. Hope I got that right. How far away from the individual can you be located to get a good shot. Any knowledge is greatly appreciated, because I have zero.
Thank you
Karen

bunny99123 said:
HI,
I have read several individuals on the forum say they use a 50mm lens for portrait shots. I am learning about lens, and I have found a 156114 MINOLTA MAXXUM 50MM F/1.7 SONY ALPHA AUTOFOCUS MOUNT LENS for $50 on Ebay. It does come with a 90 days warranty. Do you use this lens a lot or am I wasting my money? I am just learning about length from a person associated with focal length. Hope I got that right. How far away from the individual can you be located to get a good shot. Any knowledge is greatly appreciated, because I have zero.
Thank you
Karen

I use my 50mm lens all the time. I don't know anything specific about that lens though.

What lenses do you have now? Do you have one that covers the 50mm range?

Yes, I have 18 to 70 mm with a f3.5 to 5.6. I want something with a sharper image. Relocating, so buying a new for a while is out of the question. About what is the longest distance you can shoot a subject. Can you get a full body shot and still have excellent sharpness?

The Minolta lens will have better IQ.

As for framing, set your zoom to 50mm and see how far you'll need to be.