Help me pick a mirrorless

jam3s121

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am looking for my first mirrorless (looking to spend around $500-750) with kit lens max only.

I have had my canon sx260hs for awhile and its nice, but I eventually learned auto mode and feel that my skill level is now ready to be taught some new things with a mirrorless camera. I want a mirrorless because I am not a pro, have no intentions of being a pro and dslr's seem bulky. I plan to buy a prime 30mm or 50mm f1.8 type lens for whatever camera I get.

The camera doesn't need a crazy list of features, I don't care if I have built in flash or not since i never use it on my point & shoot. I would like the ability to have a remote intervalometer, for time lapses. I understand sony and lumix cameras have this built in but the lumix cameras have a set interval min. of 1minute and i don't know how good the sony APP is. I would rather just use remote so I can set it myself. 60 fps 1080p video would be cool too. I have looked at the sony next 5t mainly.. i like the gx7 but its a little out of price range but willing to go up. Thanks.

Other than that a tiltable lcd would be nice. Thanks for your help

Hi jam3s121 - and welcome to the forum! A couple of thoughts. First, if you've ever had a challenge seeing the LCD on your Powershot in bright sunlight, you may want to think about getting a camera with a viewfinder. Second - I don't know about other Lumix cameras, but the interval settings on the Panasonic Lumix G6's built-intervalometer are from 1 second to 99 minutes 59 seconds, so you wouldn't need a remote intervalometer (please see page 195 of the advanced features manual).

It seems to me that the $634 (on sale, as of this post) Panasonic G6 has everything you're looking for - the intervalometer, 1080/60p video, a completely articulated LCD - plus the built in viewfinder and an external mic jack for video (a feature the $598 NEX-5T and $998 GX7 both lack).