Help me pick a tripod

vwkid45

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am fairly new to photography and decided that it is time to get a tripod. I went to my local shop and they recomended the Quantaray QSX 8500. He said for the money it is a good tripod. I am looking to spend between $50-$70. Any suggestions?! Thanks

Buy an old '70s aluminium tripod from eBay perhaps? Spend $15 and get the same kind of robust quality and sturdyness that you get on a modern $200 tripod... just a thought - they're heavy though.

The one you've mentioned looks a bit flimsy and light, but that might be all you need - we don't all want to drag round a 30lb tripod everywhere!

Rob

KevinR said:

I completely agree with this. I just got a Bogen/Manfrotto (3001BD instead of 3021 BN but very similar). It is WELL worth the money. I even look forward to setting up my camera now it is such a joy to use.

The ballhead really is a must if you want to maintain your sanity. The only issue with this is that you may need a bubble level for your hotshoe in order to get your shots straight. However, you can just eye things up initially and then fix later in photoshop if need be.

Just wanted to add my own experience to this excellent recommendation.

id reccomend the bogen as well, my mom and brother both split the cost of one for me 5 years ago, it is a VERY sturdy tripod. only thing i want now is head to extend horizontally for macro shooting...

Like what Rob said, go to e-bay and get an old Tilt-all aluminum tripod.
I use my father's that I inherited all the time. Works like a charm.