help me spend money

chado

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to photography, but very interested. I have to buy a DSLR for my residency. I will be taking mostly intra oral photographs, with some profile shots of patients before and after surgery. It was recommended that I purchase a canon 30D with canon 100mm macro lens and the MR-14 ring flash. So I have a few questions

1. is this a good camera to buy or should i look at Nikon?
2. is this a good lens (i need 1:1 pictures for lecturing) and good color reproduction.
3. i would also like to use this camera for general shooting, ie vacation, events, etc. What other lens should i buy for general shooting?

I would like to spend around $2500 and thank you for all your help this forum is awesome.

1. is this a good camera to buy or should i look at Nikon?

That is completely up to the opinions of people. You will get a thousand different answers to that one.

2. is this a good lens (i need 1:1 pictures for lecturing) and good color reproduction.
It will give you a 1:1, and from what I have heard (actually waiting to get this lens myself), it produces rather nicely considering it is not an "L" lens

Sounds like a good set up to me. I'm sure someone can recommend an equal set up from Nikon that will before just as well but it is all personal preference.

Some good lens options for vacation shooting: 17-85 IS USM f/4-5.6, 17-55 IS USM f/2.8, 28-105, or the kit lens (18-55) would do just fine.

The difference between Canon and Nikon is all personal taste, mostly about how the cameras feel in your hand. Make sure to hold the camera before buying, try some out, see what feels right.

just got back from best buy, so i could get a feel of the cameras. I like the feel of the 30d over the 80d. So I am going to go with canon.

Now I just need to figure out what other lens to get. Are canon lenses the best or should I consider sigma, or just personal preference?