HELP! My photos are still too dark.....

Forever Asia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am needing help with my camera. I have a Nikon D7000. I am wanting to shoot with natural lighting on Manual but all my pictures come out extremely dark. I have tried setting my ISO higher even to the highest setting but it's still too dark! What am I doing wrong?

A little background here. I have been doing photography sine 2009, am self taught and sometimes have trouble understanding some photog lingo. I know there is still a lot I can learn about what my camera can do for me. Please be patient with me. Thanks.

There are four possibilites
  1. the light is OK and your aperture is too small (f8, f 11, f16) or your shutter speed is too fast
  2. the light is quite dim and no combination of wide aperture, slow shutter speed and high iso will expose correctly.
  3. the light is ok and you are making some mistake.
  4. your camera is malfunctioning
Does the lightmeter in the camera indicate that the exposure is correct? If that is pointing somewhere around the correct exposure your camera may be malfunctioning.

If you shoot on P, are the exposures good? If not that indicates a camera malfunction.

Please post an example and all the exif data associated with it.

Yes, follow Travelers advice above.
Post some pictures with the EXIF - or provide us your settings and if it's dark what time of day it was and how the lighting was. I had a d7000 and it was a wonderful camera. It has a lot of professional features and was groundbreaking when it first came out.

I am needing help with my camera. I have a Nikon D7000. I am wanting to shoot with natural lighting on Manual but all my pictures come out extremely dark. I have tried setting my ISO higher even to the highest setting but it's still too dark! What am I doing wrong?