Help on focusing at a distance

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by mrjackphoto, Mar 17, 2008.

1. mrjackphoto

mrjackphoto TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm pretty new to photography. There is an eagle on the outskirts of my hometown. I've been wanting to photograph it but find it hard to get in close without it seeing me. If I could get to the spot I want to without him taking off it would be an awesome picture but that hasn't happened yet. So I decided to shoot it from a long ways away. I bought a Nikkor 70-300 4-5.6 to shoot it. I know not a great lens but I thought it would do ok for shooting the eagle. The problem is trying to shoot and eagle at this distance is hard to focus in on such a small subject in the viewfinder. Just looking for advice. Thanks in advance. I'm zoomed in all the way too.

Jack

2. EOS_JD

EOS_JD TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Put your camera into tracking mode (with Canon it's called AI Servo not sure about Nikon). All you do is keep your focus button pressed and the camera will track the movement trying to keep the subject in focus.

This is tough to get used to especially with birds.

3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

How far away are you? After a certain distance, the lens will be at 'infinity' focus, which means that anything at that distance or farther away, will be in focus.

Either way, you might not need to focus exactly on the eagle. You just need to focus on something that is the same distance away as the eagle...so a tree or branch that it might be sitting on etc.

4. Socrates

Socrates TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Actually, the hyperfocal distance would be ideal but nowadays it's really tough finding it.