Help please, choosing a lens (YAY!)

sunbeam

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I currently shoot with a Pentax K20, and have the two kit lenses and a 50mm1.4, as well as a few 'non digital' lenses. I am not a pro, by any means, but I do get a lot of requests, and like to shoot mainly children/babies etc. but have been getting alot of requests for weddings as well (which I refuse to do until I have been a second shooter several times, have the right equipment etc) anyways, so weddings will be in my future.

Anyways, I am wanting to add a new lens to my 'family', and am looking at the
Pentax DA 16-50mm F2.8 ED AL SDM and the

Pentax DA 50-135mm F2.8 ED SDM

I definitely want a 'fast' lens, but cannot decide between the zoom capabilities of the 50-135, or the wide angle of the 16-50.

Any advice would be awesome. Thanks a bunch.

What focal length do you find yourself using on your current lenses?

Live free, I really like my 50mm for most things, but at times I don't like the fact that it is prime. I'm finding that with young, active kids, zooming in and out is a nice feature, but with families etc, I'm wondering if I would like the wide angle of the 16-50? It's just a toughy for me! So I'd love to know if anyone else uses either of these lenses.. pentax or not. THANKS :)

The fast, f/2.8 maximum aperture 16 or 17 or 18mm to 50 or 55mm zoom lens has become a staple for wedding and event photography when using a 1.5x or 1.6x d-slr body. Most of the 3rd party lens makers have a decent lens in that category, as does Pentax with its DA* model. And an all-around lens, their 16-50 f/2.8 DA* would make a good lens for all types of interior shots at weddings, reunions, and so on. Many people here will tell you from personal experience just how valuable it is to have an f/2.8 16-17-18 to 50 lens, and it is a valuable lens to have for many people.