Help please with Nikon D3000. Absolute beginner over here.

Lisabee812

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good morning. Looking for some help please . I’ve just inherited a Nikon D3000 after my grandad passed away. There’s no box or instructions. I have 3 kids and will mainly photograph them ...... at events like birthdays /holidays. My problem is I’ve set the little circle to Auto , however the photographs are coming out very blurry and out of focus. Which settings should all the other little buttons be on please?? I know this post is perhaps in the wrong forum and I sounds so basic .... I apologise in advance , just didn’t know where to start.

Thank you
Lisa

There should be a switch on the lens. Make sure that's in the af position, not the m position

First of all, download a user's manual here:

Nikon | Download center | D3000

Read it front to back, and maybe some sections more than once. Nikon's manuals seem to have been written by an engineer, so you'll need to dig a little and ask questions on here as you go.

Secondly; look the thing over to find the "AF" switch, probably located on the front of the camera, just to the left of where the lens attaches to the camera. Turn it to "AF" (auto focus).

Look on the barrel of the lens for another switch that says "A A/M". Switch it to "A".

Next; turn the wheel on top to "auto". But first; reset all settings to factory default. (find this in the manual)

When the camera is in factory default, almost everything will function pretty much without input from you, including the focus, exposure, etc.