help please!

jonasr_jp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi recently i bought a tripod and then i got this extension macro tube as well, now i`m wondering what it actually do, as i am a newbie and dont understand english that well, maybe someone could explain it a little better, i have a pentax ist ds with an original 18 - 50mm lins, the only thing that happends when i put these things together is that its get blurry and dark, and the original lins is upside down.

can someone enlight me?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Macro-Extension-Tube-Set-for-Pentax-ist-D-Ds_W0QQitemZ220002212111QQihZ012QQcategoryZ79000QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Extension tubes allow you to get close to a subject. You can even get close enough so that the image on the film is larger than the object you are photographing.

You'll need quite a bit of information to use them at their best. As an example, as you get closer to a subject, you must increase the exposure. If your set did not come with instructions, try to locate a copy. A full explanation of extension tubes would take up too much space to put here in this thread.

Perhaps someone knows of a web site for instructions.

This is a decent explanation from the Kenko website:

Kenko DG Teleplus Extension Tube Set

Extension tubes are designed to enable a lens to focus closer than its normal set minimum focusing distance. Getting closer has the effect of magnifying your subject (making it appear larger in the viewfinder and in your pictures). They are exceptionally useful for macro photography, enabling you to convert almost any lens into a macro lens at a fraction of the cost while maintaining its original optical quality.