Help recreating a photo of the lovely Zooey Deschanel?

thenewdancecraze

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello!
So, I'm an amateur photographer.
I know the basics and am pretty craft with Photoshop Elements 8.
However, my next project I want to be perfect.
And I don't know how to disassemble one picture and recreate a similar affect in another.
For example, I have been told for the past few years that I look like Zooey Deschanel (Not to be cocky here, I do slightly resemble her but I think she is much more gorgeous than I am).
Therefore my boyfriend, also obsessed with Zooey, would love to see a picture of me that mirrors this picture of Zooey:

zooey-deschanel.jpg

I can see the basics effects, such as lighting from underneath and a focus on her face and blur around her.

However, I'm not entirely sure how to DO this myself. Like how should I take the picture? With what settings? And then what editing in photoshop would allow me to acheive that warm golden/copper tone that is in this photo?

If anyone could take apart this photo and give me instructions how to recreate it with a different subject (i.e. me!) I would greatly appreciate it!

I'm a huge fan of Zooey and I love her to death <3
Therefore I would love to emulate her in my own way!

Last edited by a moderator:
The lighting is primarily from a single umbrella light placed above her eye level and angled down at her face. See the shadow under her nose????? See how it is just a teensy-tiny bit off-center, that shadow? You need to have a smallish umbrella, like a 30 to 32 incher, palced right in front of you. Only about half of the umbrella is reflecting in her eyeball,at the tops of the eyes.

Under her chin and just out of camera view are two smallish reflectors--they appear to be roughly 12x18 inch pieces of card. MUCH of the light that is raining down from above from the umbrella is bouncing back off of the reflectors, lighting the area under her chin.