HELP- Screen went BLACK...So did photos.

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by sj022698, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. sj022698

    sj022698 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if this is the right category so if not, I apologize and to any mod, feel free to move to the appropriate section.

    I have a Canon Rebel DS6041 which I believe is the same as the 300d.

    Anyway, I've never had any issues with it until yesterday...I was taking photos and it was working properly and then I looked down and the lcd display would just have a black screen displayed. Pulled the memory card out and transferred to the computer. The first dozen or so were fine but then the remainder were completely black. Pulled the battery...After doing some quick searches, it looked like the symptoms resemble a bad CCD. Would you agree?

    I also tried setting it to TV mode and dropping it down to a slow shutter speed to see if that would fix it but nothing. Any other suggestions?

    I appreciate the help!
     
  2. sj022698

    sj022698 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way, I can view all the menus on the LCD fine. I've also formatted the memory card and tried a different card.

    Could this be a shutter problem? Would a good cleaning help. Honestly, I've had this camera since like 2003 and it's never been cleaned. I don't even know how to clean it.
     
  3. DennyCrane

    DennyCrane No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    The arctic North Coast
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    It could be a stuck mirror. If you can see through the viewfinder, but nothing's getting to the sensor, that might be it. Take another picture with a slow shutter speed- see if the viewfinder goes black as you press the shutter button. If it doesn't, the mirror is not moving.
     
  4. sj022698

    sj022698 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just did as advised and the viewfinder went black. What should I try next?

    What are the other common problems for the symptoms? Would it be either the shutter or CCD? Is there a way to test either?
     
  5. fokker

    fokker No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,830
    Likes Received:
    293
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'd say your sensor is goneburgers. Probably you should start saving for a new camera.
     
  6. sj022698

    sj022698 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0

    Any way to determine it for sure? I'd hate to just discard it without really being sure? What's the typical price to fix this issue? Could it simply be something from the lack of cleaning?
     
  7. DennyCrane

    DennyCrane No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    The arctic North Coast
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
  8. Dao

    Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,252
    Likes Received:
    418
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Can you set the shutter speed to 3 to 5 seconds. And then look inside the camera through the lens mount (no lens is mounted). Press the shutter button and see if you are able to see the sensor.
     
  9. sj022698

    sj022698 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    I apologize but can you dumb it down for me. I'm not much of a photographer.

    #1-When I set the shutter to 3-5 seconds, what should I be on? Should it be like the TV setting or similar?
    #2- If so, What number should I scroll to?
    #3- Should I do it in a somewhat dim room?
    #4- Lastly, what does the sensor look like and with it produce any colors?
     
  10. sj022698

    sj022698 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Dao

    Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,252
    Likes Received:
    418
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #1 Tv mode, time enough for you to see if mirror and curtains move away to expose the sensor.
    #2 If you can see it in 3 seconds, then set to 3 seconds.
    #3 Enough light for you to see.
    #4 Look here
    http://www.infoborder.com/Digital_Camera_review/Canon/sensor.jpg
     
  12. sj022698

    sj022698 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I apologize for the amount of photos but was thinking that there might be something in a picture that stands out but since I don't know anything about this stuff that it might mean something. Here is what it looks like when I simply pull off the lens.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Here is when I press the shutter button on TV mode set at 15"
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Does anything stand out to anyone???
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

nikon fm10 black screen

,

nikon fm10 troubleshooting: black window

,

shutter curtain in nikon fm10 stuck