Help the college kid out!

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by schmidty2, Jul 25, 2008.

1. schmidty2

schmidty2 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hey guys! My name is Nate, and I'm a Graphic Design student looking to finally buy my first DSLR, but I'm not too sure where to start. I have had my eyes on the Nikon D40 for a while now, but have recently been struggling with my final decision because I don't know if I should "go bigger...". The other two I was looking at is the D60 and Canon XSi.

Also, I found a website that sells good package deals for really CHEAP (because I'm a college kid, remember?). Is it too good to be true, or the real deal?: BroadwayPhoto.com

Thanks for listening, and I look forward to hearing what you have to say!

2. prodigy2k7

prodigy2k7 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
  3. Joves

Joves No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yeah and if I remember right arent they under like 3 or 4 other names or, is that one of the other more common ones that popup. The most reputable dealers to name just two I deal with are B&H and, Adorama.

4. ryan7783

ryan7783 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    hey schmidty, I sent you a PM but I don't know if it went through

5. shorty6049

shorty6049 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    well, personally, I shoot Sony and love love LOVE my a700, but if you're only chosing between the canon and nikon, i guess i'd say either the d80 or XSi, if you're buying any used lenses, you'll have trouble with the d40 because it only takes lenses with a motor in them.

6. Zansho

Zansho TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Broadway Photo folks are big bait and switchers. I'd avoid them if I were you.

Instead, shop at B&H or Adorama. Both have used DSLR's for sale too, and often you can get a refurbished 30D (which is what I think you should go for) for around 500 dollars.