Help! User friendly photo editing software?!

Whiteheart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, I am a Obviously a beginner amateur photographer. I am in the market for a user friendly photo editing software. I don't want to spend a fortune, if that's possible! I am also wanting to be able to use purchased actions in this software. Any suggestions are appreciated!! :)

You'll have to define "a fortune"; is that $1.00? $100.00? 1000.00? There are a multitude of options available. As mentioned above, Picasa is a freeware editor with basic capabiltiy, The Gimp is another freeware editor with very advanced capabilities, but it is not quite so user-friendly.

Two applications which I recommend for entry-level to intermediate users are PaintShop Pro, and Adobe Photoshop Elements. These are both in the ~$80 - 120 range, and do about 98% of what most people need in image editing.

Lighroom is pretty user friendly. My mom is using it.

I would recommend lightroom. It's like camera raw in photoshop, but with more features. Matt Klawskowski has a wicked website called lightroom killer tips with tons of videos. all free to watch. Sometimes if you have to pay a little more for software its worth it if they have good support. I do most of my camera raw editing in lightroom and then switch to photoshop to finalize. although, when I first started lightroom was all I used.

Definitely Adobe lightroom, its non destructive so at anytime even if it's three years down the road you decide that any editing you did you want to undo its all saved in your catalog. its in the 150 range possibly a little more but worth the investment, if your a student you can get it for 85$

Do yourself a favor. If you haven't purchased anything yet, download GIMP, and give it a test run. You didn't specify your operating system. Are you using Windows or something else? Make certain you download the Gimp version for your OS (it runs on almost any OS).