help with choosing a lighting kit

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by nyzwerewolf, Dec 8, 2009.

1. nyzwerewolf

nyzwerewolf TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    hello guys,

I am not a pro, but I do take ok pictures. I have a D60 and a G11. Recently, a lot of my friends/family have been calling me to do portrait shots of them and their kids. I have not said yes to them yet because if i take pictures, I want them to look professional. And for photos to look pro, you need good lighting.

So basically, I am looking for a decent lighting kit. I am a college student, so my budget is about 300-350. Can you guys help me pick a nice lighting kit?

Also, I came across this on amazon. please let me know your feedback on that kit.

any help/comments/suggestions appreciated!
    Thanks a lot!
    Low

2. inTempus

inTempus TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Those look like hot lights and not strobes... as for the quality, I honestly can't say as I've never used anything like that.

3. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    The product description is not complete there on Amazon. You need to know the wattage of all three of the lights, how high the light stands will go, and how big the umbrellas are.

I think you can see that info on Adoramas web site: 401436 Smith Victor KT900 3-Light 1250-Watt Thrifty Mini-Boom Kit with Light Cart on Wheels Carrying Case. Just check to be sure it's the same kit.

Actually it looks like a decent kit for the price. The lights have enough power, the light stands go up 8 feet and the umbrellas are big enough to do head and shoulder portraits of a couple people at a time.

Warning: Being continous lights, and not strobes, the lights and metal reflectors will get very hot. The metal reflectors and the lights themselves pose a significant burn hazard and if placed to close to flammable objects could start a fire.

4. nyzwerewolf

nyzwerewolf TPF Noob!