Help with costs for used lens

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by clockwurk, Feb 5, 2010.

1. clockwurk

clockwurk TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hello all :)

I'm fairly new at this and I was looking into buying some lenses for my D200.

I am looking at a 50mm f/1.4 D and I have noticed that the going rate for this used, excellent condition is around 250-275 dollars.

I was wondering if anyone here knows what is the general cost for a used, excellent condition Nikon AF-S 70-200mm VR f/2.8 G ED-IF? I'm assuming it is out for warranty.

Thank you in advance.

2. dearlybeloved

dearlybeloved No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    ive seen them for 1400 but thats a good deal id say.

3. dxqcanada

dxqcanada Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    Sold items on eBay is aprox. $1500.00

4. fstop

fstop TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    $1400-$1500 max. If you don't already have one, register with ebay and do an advanced search on completed listings. Make sure they've actually "sold" or it doesn't mean anything. Someone else mentioned ebay...not sure if you knew how to dig for it.

You can find an occassional decent buy on Craigslist, but I've found most clowns think their going to get 10% off original purchase price with a ding to boot on Craigs.

5. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Nikon's warranty only applies to the original owner, so any used gear you buy from an individual doesn't have any warranty, even if the warranty card is not filled out. I register Nikon gear online, not by snail mail. Considering Nikon USA lenses come with a 5 year warranty is a consideration for buying new, rather than used.

It's also the reason some Nikon owners have a 5 year lens selling cycle.

Some used gear sold by camera stores comes with a limited, short term, warranty and most factory refurbished gear comes with 90 days of warranty.