Help with editting Engagement pictures?

Britta G

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I took some engagement pictures as a favor to a friend, and now I'm in the editing process and can't seem to figure out how to get the look I want. I'm self taught in editting portion, and will be going to school in January to learn more. Unfortunately I can't wait until then. I use gimp and am trying to figure out how to make my pictures pop, but not too much.

Thanks to NateWagner I was able to figure out how to upload a photo. So here is an example of a photo that I would like to make pop.
DSC_0462.jpg

Last edited:
Well, for making images pop there are a number of tutorials available online, Tutorial is one such example.

For posting images online, simply google free image hosting.
Photobucket is a good one that even provides the links to the images so you can copy and paste them into the posts here at The Photo Forum

Also, just as an FYI... Editing, only has one "t"

Good luck, and I look forward to seeing your images.

Seeing as you're a first-time poster and it's likely that this is the entire reason you joined the forum, I suggest changing your "My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit" line into the "My Photos Are OK to Edit." This can be done in your User CP. Then some kind members may do a little tinkering with the JPG you post, post it, and let you know how they did it.

Do you have any other photos to edit? This one isn't the best to start with. Here are some problems that I notice with the picture right away.

The support wire next to the lady. It is very distracting. Be aware of your background.

The picture needs to be straightened. The horizon is not level.

Focus is soft on the people, but sharp on the rocks and foreground.

At best this is just a snapshot.

Photo Editing can't make a bad photo good. It can help make a good photo good. The best pictures don't need any editing at all.

The Good:
The couple does have a nice pose and smile.