Help with exposure...

roxysmom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been dabbling in wedding photography for about 18 months now. I've done about 7 weddings with help and a few on my own. I have had very happy customers. Overall I set up expetations ahead of time that I'm still new in the world of photography. My clients are generally people with limited budgets so they have been very happy with the quality and quantity of pictures for the price. They also say I am very nice to work with. All compliments! However...

I know I need help with exposure. I'm just not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm using an expodisc for white balance and I always use a fixed lens. Normally a 50mm 1.4 and I rent a 70-200mm fixed. I also take all pictures manually and in RAW.

I put a link to my most recent wedding below for feedback. I still have all the originals in RAW so whatever they order or want in their album I can still go back and do more adjustments.

I am looking for exposure help and of course opinions are always appreciated. The downfall with this wedding over my other one's is that she wanted outside photos but it was raining and very black/cloudy. We got in a few shots but not how I'd normally like them to look. In addition they were supposed to get married outside but had to find a church at the last minute. The church is ugly...point blank. However ugly it is my exposure should still be dead on and I just don't feel that it is.
http://justinemily.weddingherald.com/index.php/view_event.php

It would help a lot if you could show us some specific examples...rather than asking us to look though hundreds of images and comment on something as specific as exposure.

One thing I did notice, is that many of them seem to be lacking contrast, especially on the low/dark end. I'm not sure if the suits were actually black, but in many shots they looks like a washed out greyish tone.