help with f-stop

mkedre

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to learning and understanding photography (other than just point and shoot) and I'm having a hard time understanding f-stops. Can anyone explain it in an easy way? I'm in the market for an SLR and want to understand it so I know what I'm doing when I purchase. Thanks in advance!

its really simple once you get the hang of it. The camera is a light tight box with a hole in it for the image to come thorough....the aperature is that hole. The f-stops control how much light comes through, along with the time it also controls depth of field...smaller aperatures(bigger number) creates more depth of field. Then to create your proper exposure you must find the right shutter speed based on your in camera meter, or a handheld light meter.

That's the simplified version. Try going to the library and getting a few books, they will go way more in depth than anyone can on here...they'll answer a lot of your questions...plus they usually have awesome little pictures to go along with it!

~Andrew~

its really simple once you get the hang of it. The camera is a light tight box with a hole in it for the image to come thorough....the aperature is that hole. The f-stops control how much light comes through, along with the time it also controls depth of field...smaller aperatures(bigger number) creates more depth of field. Then to create your proper exposure you must find the right shutter speed based on your in camera meter, or a handheld light meter.

That's the simplified version. Try going to the library and getting a few books, they will go way more in depth than anyone can on here...they'll answer a lot of your questions...plus they usually have awesome little pictures to go along with it!

~Andrew~

f/stop refers to the size of the aperture, or hole in the lens.