Help with Getting Bold Colors

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Zen685, May 28, 2010.

1. Zen685

Zen685 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm just getting started in this hobby and I'm shooting with a Canon XSi and stock IS lens. I'm having a hard time getting the bold colors to come out like I see in more experienced photographers photos. I've noticed I can get good color when I have a ton of light but most of the time the color is just dull. Is this because my lens doesn't let in enough light or do I need to make some adjustments within the camera?

2. RobNZ

RobNZ TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Hi Zen, sounds to me like your not doing any post production. Most shots need at least some minor tweaking to get the best out of them.

Do you have an example?

3. iolair

iolair No longer a newbie, moving up!

I have noticed a fair difference between the kit 18-55 lens and my 50mm 1.8 ... more to do with the optical quality than the aperture though I think.

Yes, post-processing can bring out the colours and get the effect you want, especially if you shoot in RAW and use Canon's DPP software to get the best exposure out of your images.

Perhaps if you posted one or two of the examples you're disappointed with and details on how you took the photo (exposure details, lighting used) then we could give more specific feedback.

4. Zen685

Zen685 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I'm shooting in RAW and doing my post production in DPP. I may just need more practice editing. Any suggestions on some basic post production steps? I'm working on getting a photo uploaded. I'm new to this forum and I'm having a hard time. I keep uploading it and it never shows up in my gallery. It just says processing.

5. Zen685

Zen685 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    double post

Last edited: May 28, 2010
  6. Zen685

Zen685 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit