Help with motorcycle photography.

djtroy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok here it goes I signed up on this forum looking for some serious advice. I am currently working at a motorcycle dealership and I am looking to purchase the right lighting to shoot motorcycles. I am looking for advice on what to buy. Looking to buy a basic kit and don't really want to spend more than $500 at the moment on lighting.
We are switching locations soon and eventually, we will be building a big dedicated photo booth with white walls and floor with a 10x5 overhead softbox. I need lights and flashes now that I can use when we move to the new location too.
I have attached a few photos and you can see the glare issues im having with the current light setup. Im a beginner at best so any tips would be great. I literally know the very basics. I cant attach photos yet but you can go to the web site www.purepowersports.com and you can see the photos ive taken since I started there. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Also I shoot with a Sony a6000 and is that a camera that works or should I upgrade?

Also I shoot with a Sony a6000 and is that a camera that works or should I upgrade?
The camera is about the least of it. Lens is more important.

The big dedicated photo booth with adjustable lighting is the way to go. You might find the need for more large softboxes that sit on the floor, as well as reflectors and scrims. You can build it all except for the strobe lights.

Just make everything so you can dismantle it and move it when the time comes.

Head over to eBay and search for Speedotron. $500 should get you at LEAST 4-5 M11 or M90 heads, power pack and a few modifiers. Add a few inexpensive MiC umbrellas and/or softboxes and a trigger to this set and you'll be off to a good start.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.