Help with photography needed: Socially Awkward

TBAM

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I see many photographers do random photos of random people, sometimes random portraits, and I always wonder how they do it.

Do they ask for permission to take a photo?
Do they just randomly take it and hope noone notices?

I'm an amateur photographer looking to potentially get into professional photography. However i'm a bit socially awkward / defunct.

When I go out taking photos, even if it's of buildings, I often worry about being in peoples' way. Or that I might get someone in the photo that doesn't want to be in the photo.

I've done band photography, such as promo shots before and done pretty well, however i'm always quite nervous about getting people into poses, or getting them to make faces.

I'm more of a scavenger photographer, hehe, I tend to observe and capture what someone or something else sets up.

What I'm asking, is are there any techniques that you photographers have for getting the confidence to move people around at whim, to find someone in front of you in an interesting position and just take a photo of them not caring about what they will say, even though you don't know them, for the greater artistic good.

To be the one to get in there and get a photo.

Heh, I'm the same way when it comes to people photography - I hate being the obtrusive man with a camera.

But as to your first question, the answer lies not in the previously expressed options, but in a hidden third; They keep an eye out for interesting people and places, take the picture, and if they get noticed they really don't care much.

As to your second, much larger question...

It's all in the self confidence. or the act of self confidence. If you act like you know what you're doing, usually people will be compliant (even if you really don't know what you're doing!).