Help with portrait shooting.

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by redonyx, Feb 5, 2010.

1. redonyx

redonyx TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm getting to be very interested in learning how to shoot portraits. I've read several books on the subject as well as looked at several websites. While these give me great ideas, they do not give any feedback. And while this forum is great, the majority of the feedback I get doesn't help me learn. I was wondering if there was someone out there who would be willing to more or less "mentor" me in portrait photography. This would really only mean critiquing about 1 or 2 images a week until I get comfortable.

I'm a student currently so I don't have the means to pay for lessons, but if there is something I can do in return I'd be glad to.

Thanks.

2. ilovemy50d

ilovemy50d TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Maybe contact some of your local photographers? I know my wedding photographer is very, very helpful. She has even invited me over to play with her gear!

3. FattyMcJ

FattyMcJ TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Naughty...:lol:

4. Bitter Jeweler

Bitter Jeweler Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    Just keep posting up images. People won't get annoyed if you post up a few images a week. I don't understand the "majority of the feedback" comment, as I have only seen you post 1 image of a person, so far. Yes you will have to sift through misinformation, but over all this is a great place.