Help with shooting the moon!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Emilyward14, Dec 3, 2017.

1. Emilyward14

Emilyward14 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hey everyone,
    So I am VERY new to the photography world, I got my first DSLR camera about two weeks ago and will be starting a course in January. I have the canon T6 (1300D). I went down to take a few pictures of the super moon that’s out tonight, and after several attempts (37) I gave up. I couldn’t get my camera to get a nice sharp picture, there were all blurred (example of photos attached). Can anyone tell me what I’m doing wrong? I didn’t have my camera on a tripod but I did try and sit it on a bench a few times to keep it steady but it made no difference :(
    I would be super grateful if anyone could help me!!
    Many thanks, Emily View attachment 150300 View attachment 150301 View attachment 150300 View attachment 150301 View attachment 150300 View attachment 150301

Attached Files:

2. zulu42

zulu42 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    Hi welcome to the forum and congrats on your new camera!

Start by finding out what your shutter speeds were on those shots. I think the shutter speed was too slow to be hand held.

3. Emilyward14

Emilyward14 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thanks so much for your reply- I’m going to attach the photo description so you can know the exact setting. I did try and change it around a lot as I did 37 attempts but nothing changed unfortunately.
    Thanks for taking the time to reply to my thread!
    Emily

Attached Files:

4. zulu42

Photos OK to edit
    3" That means your shutter was open for 3 seconds, thats way too long to hold perfectly steady. I impressed your shots are that clear!

Your camera was looking out into a dark environment and did everything it could to let in as much light as possible, including opening the shutter for a long time.