Help with Sweet 16

LuckySe7en

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok I have no idea what I'm doing with photography, I just got my slr for Christmas and I've managed to get myself hired for a Sweet 16...Just kidding everyone lol everyone can calm down now :lol:

Truth is I am fairly new to photography and my little cousin's sweet 16 is coming up. I'm not the photographer for the event, however I would like to take advantage of the practice. I'll be shooting with my canon xs. I plan to either purchase or rent a lens. before I get killed for my equipment, I understand that it's inadequate for this type of event BUT I'm not getting paid and I'm just a guest with a camera. And I also realize that the xs is more than capable of taking decent photos.

I would like some help with the additional equipment I would need, preferred lens, flash, etc. I would also like to offer her a session before the event, free of course. I'm just looking for experience and maybe some photos for my portfolio.

Any help/comments would be appreciated.

An external flash is a must have, otherwise the photos will never look professional.
A good lens, preferably a USM will help you focus quickly and catch any action shots.
A lens with a very large aperture is really good for photographing in low light situations.
Chose an ISO-speed of ISO400 or lower, to avoid photos becomming grainy.
But the number one thing is that the photographer is more important than the camera, chose your subject carefully and don't just snap away at everything.
Photo composition takes time to learn, but give it a try, and have a lot of fun with it.
Hope this was helpful.

You didn't really give any info about the environment that you'll be shooting it...so it's hard to recommend anything. But I agree with the first point on the previous comment. An external flash is probably the most useful accessory for event photography.