hey guys i am new to the photography and I want to invest in a camera not too expensive

jackblackisdope

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
and i dont now what to get! any advise?????

well my budget is around 350-450, I am still very green maybe a DSLR .....

A good used d3200 and kit lens might be a good place to start. KEH camera is a great source for used or refurbished equipment.

Sent from my 306SH using Tapatalk
Another vote for a Nikon D3200 or Nikon D3300, excellent cameras to start with.

yes, something like a Canon Rebel series - (refurbished) excellent to start with T5i, T6i, 650D -- $400

Frankly, jackblackisdope; a DSLR is like getting a scale model of a ship in a bottle for a present. You have to really want to learn it, and use it for that to make any sense. They're kind of big and heavy, and full of technical stuff. If you're into that kind of thing, then sure, a DSLR will eventually give you the kind of photographs that you can be proud of, and possibly impress family members.

On the other hand, a fairly competent "point-and-shoot" will also give you decent photographs, while being significantly easier to operate and carry around.

So for your budget, I would recommend that you do not try to find a late-production DSLR and lens combo that is a used something of the entry-level camera anyway. Rather I suggest you shop around for a "compact" camera (which is a point-and-shoot) that fits your budget, and you don't have to learn a bunch of stuff just to get some photographs.

Seriously.

(edit) I still have and use my point-and-shoot even though I now have a DSLR.

All of the above listed would be nice.

My observation is that (in general) the used lenses by canon can go a little cheaper than the similarly-situated used nikon lenses. Anyone see this phenomena?

Learning about photography is crucial (for all of us), regardless of the gear. I've seen some stunning shots taken with a cell phone!