Hi everybody

Meghan Photography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My name is Meghan, I am a beginnner photographer.....I work for this big jewelry company and I just took a series of jewelry photos....I wonder how to retouch them, any tips?

Hi Meghan, jewelry is one of the more difficult things to shoot. Diamonds, Svarovski chrystals and everything that is highly transparent, nicely cut and polished often looks dull and flat under flashlight.
The colors often completely disappear. If that is why you are looking for help, I guess you need to be an absolute photoshop pro to get that play of colors into your images, because it has to be composed in photoshop.
It is "easier" to get those colors while shooting. For a beginner it is easiest to use direct sunlight rather than a studio environment. That sounds rather weird but try it. The colors are outstanding. The difficulty however is the background outdoors. Shooting transparent stuff on white background means you have to underexpose the shot and isolate the background later in photoshop. Shooting it on black might make the diamonds look not as beautiful as you want them to, plus the background will usually get pretty bright rather than pitch black.
Do you have a sample of your work so that we get an idea of what you were able to get out of your camera?

I tried with daylight, but I get so much reflections and those are so hard to retouch......i cant shoot on black, boss wants white background......on all images.....i better start learning photoshop

Do you have an image to share?