Hi from Gladstone, Queensland

dcbear78

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.crewonephotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Thought it best I introduce myself. New to the page. I have been a regular on Pentax Forums for a while now but looking for non brand specific forum to essentially call home as I mostly shoot Nikon these days.

In the big scheme of things I am still very new to photography. After wanting to try out my hand at photography for a number of year but never being allowed to spend the money. Went through a divorce and no longer had someone holding me back so finally took the leap at Christmas time 2012.

My first DSLR was a Pentax K-30. I chose this as comparing what was on the market at the time this camera was a clear leader in value for money with what it offered. And I did love it. Still do. Still have it despite moving on from there. A bit over a year later after getting well and truly bitten by the photography bug and taking on some serious LBA and GAS I upgraded to the newly released Pentax K-3. My lens line up included the Pentax 18-135mm for an everyday lens and weather sealing. Two of the three amigos in the FA31mm f1.8 Ltd and FA77 f1.8 Ltd. Plus some others like Sigma 10-20mm f3.5, Rokinon 8mm fisheye and some older manual Helios 44m's. I don't do much nature or sports so don't shoot long often.

I really loved my Pentax gear. But late last year I wanted to make the step into taking photos "professionally" on a part time basis and decided I wanted to make the move to a full frame set up.

Not wanting to do things by halves I bit the bullet and made the investment in a Nikon D810, Tamron's trinity of 15-30mm f2.8 VC, 24-70mm f2.8 VC and 70-200mm f2.8 VC. I also have a Sigma Art 50mm f1.4mm. I did have a Nikon 14-24mm f2.8 but I was unhappy with my copy and sold it to purchase the Tamron ultra wide when it was released.