Hi! I'm new to the photo forum!! I'd love advice of any kind!

andyneal331

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all!!! I finally decided to find a forum to see what all advice people have to offer to me and to get multiple opinions!! My husband bought me a Nikon D90 about a year ago that I LOVE. We have an 18 month old little boy (who is hard to catch on camera right now because he runs EVERYWHERE..he's NEVER still enough!! I feel like I miss out on a lot of good pictures). Anyways, with my camera came the 18-105mm lens which I use sometimes, but mostly my 50mm f1.8 stays on there. I love the bokeh, but have been kicking myself in the tail for not getting the 1.4 instead of the 1.8. But as a stay at home Mom and Wife, WHEN, IF EVER we have extra money.. it doesn't usually get spent on things like camera lenses. :thumbdown: So I opted for the 1.8.. Is the 1.4 THAT much better than the 1.8? I hear it is...

I'm also saving up for a new lens.. anytime I get birthday or Christmas money, I'm putting it up in MY OWN place to add up and I'm up to around $260 now. HAHA. I have been hearing so many different things about so many lenses..I'm not sure which one to make my priority? I LOVE to shoot pictures of my son..and can't wait for him to know what "SIT STILL" means and actually do it so I can get some great pictures of him... and I like nature (I live in the sticks)..

Any advice on GREAT editing books or photography books would also be amazing. I look forward to "meeting" some of you and getting helpful advice!!!!