Hi! Newbie here with One question

Machine May

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.tracymilburn.com
Hi! I'm glad to be on this forum. I have a lot to learn about photography techniques; but I think I have a good instinct when taking shots. You can see some samples of shots I've taken here:

http://tracymilburn.com/public/img/Galveston/

Anyway, I have a question when taking action shots. I do a lot of videography of martial arts tournaments (VX2000) and I'd like to start taking more pictures, but I haven't had much luck taking action shots because they usually turn up blurring. I've tried the "sports" mode of my camera (Canon DSLR Rebel) but they usually still come out blurry. What am I doing wrong? Thanks

Um, I can't answer your question, but I do know your avatar needs to be waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay smaller! HOW did you get it that BIG???

It should be no more than 100 pixels by 100 pixels and no more than 20kb :)

I figured the site would trim the avatar... it's a picture of my son I took recently at a german resturaunt in Plano, TX and then scaled it down (lol! yes) from 6.1 megapixels.

Core, "That avatar is hilarious!!!!!!"

Thanks dawg...

Your photo are blurry because the shutter is too slow. Sports mode does try to keep the shutter fast but you are probably shooting indoor where the light is poor.

What you need to do is put the camera in manual or shutter priority mode. Set the shutter to the camera's fastest flash sync speed (1/200 for you).

Now use your flash and set the aperture to get the DOF that you want. The flash will freeze the motion.

You might not be able to use a flash while shooting martial arts so you had better ask first. If you can't use a flash. You will need to turn up the ISO setting until you can get a good exposure while using a shutter speed of 1/125 at the least.