high contrast bw 35mm film

thebeginning

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.danielcolvinphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
i'm a novice with film still, and I was wondering what might be some good brands for film. I'm mostly looking for crisp, high contrast bw film (but some nice looking color too). So far I havent been able to buy any film except for at local places like walmart so i've only bought kodak and fuji a couple of times. Any suggestions?

High speed film or ,more so, pushed film should give higher contrast. If you print yourself, a grade 4 or higher filter should do the trick. That will allow you to keep usable negatives, giving you the option to grade down to 2 or 3.

How high contrast are we talking? Adding a red filter to regular BW film will add contrast. Most of the high contrast BW films have been discounted. Check out Ilford maybe they still make some normal development HC films. The other option is Ortho film it maybe processed with different development for different contrast levels. I believe Maco is the only brand that make ortho in 35mm or 120 films.

Freestyle as the Maco films

i dont develop my film quite yet, so i cant take that suggestion until i get access to a darkroom. i dont mean like ultra high contrast so it looks fake, i was just curious to see if there was film that would regularly print with good contrast. many of my bw shots turn out gray and drab.

thebeginning said:
i dont develop my film quite yet, so i cant take that suggestion until i get access to a darkroom. i dont mean like ultra high contrast so it looks fake, i was just curious to see if there was film that would regularly print with good contrast. many of my bw shots turn out gray and drab.