High end compact ... or DSLR ?

Zwaf2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

For a few weeks I've been looking for a new camera. We (our family) have been using a point and shoot for about 3 years now but it lacks stabilizer/has low iso/ugly quality/flash goes off at random like when you plug it in your pc/ etc :D
Anyway.. I've become interested in photography and like to make pictures of just about everything... nature, people, indoors/outdoors. The problem with my latest camera was that its maximum ISO of 200 and no stabilizer caused all pictures (taken without a flash) after 6pm to be blurry :meh:

Now.. I'm looking for a new camera. The problem is that I'm not a professional photographer. I know a bit when it comes down to exposure, aperture. I like features such as a variable depth of field and bulb mode (longer/manual exposure). And I want to be in control of my camera (exposure, focus). The logical conclusion as this point would be ... right.. a DSLR.

But... the camera I'm looking for still has to have an option to take video and have a viewfinder LCD (so I can see what I'm taking a picture off). Don't really need RAW mode since I prefer pictures to be delivered to me ready and processed. I do use photoshop a lot but thats mainly to achieve effects such as DOF or counter-motion-blurring :p.

My budget is < $500 and I'm situated in Europe.
I've already taken a look at the Canon Powershot G7/G9 (as an high end compact). I really like this camera since it has a lot of advanced function. I havent quite worked out yet whether I can do DOF (with a different lens or anything) or if it has some sort of Bulb (or manual exposure of 1-15sec).
I've also looked at the Eos350D (or digital rebel XT). This camera obviously has features like bulb and but lacks the lcd view and video mode. Also, I guess my family wants to able to use the camera as well.. although not that much.