High ISO Woodpecker

Discussion in 'Nature & Wildlife' started by icassell, May 3, 2010.

  1. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    It was getting towards dusk this evening and I was messing around with auto-ISO on my 7D just to see if it works (upper limit of auto-ISO is 3200). I'd never played with it before and I had never really tried the upper limits of ISO on the camera at all. A Gila Woodpecker landed on my feeder and, even though it was kinda dark, I turned off auto-ISO and cranked the ISO to 12,800 just to see what happened. I really didn't expect much.

    7D Handheld, Sigma 100-300mm f/4 @ 276mm
    1/640 sec @ f/7.1
    ISO 12,800
    A little brightening in LR2, sharpening in CS4, and noise reduction in Noiseware Pro


    It's not beautiful, but it is ISO 12,800

    [​IMG]
  2. pbelarge
    Offline

    pbelarge New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,680
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Ian
    I have a photo that is remarkably similar to this shot. I have to try and find it. I think I shot it with a P&S.
  3. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Just for interest's sake, here it is after cropping before sharpening and Noise Reduction

    [​IMG]
  4. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I'd love to see it! I love woodpeckers.
  5. Wino
    Offline

    Wino New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pattaya, Thailand
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Hi Icassell,

    Well caught and well done with the editing. Pity about that distracting red object on the left. Maybe straighten the pole and then crop out the object I referred to? Background nicely blurred.
  6. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit

    Nah, but thanks! I have many good images of this guy with good composition, etc.. The only reason I posted this particular image was for the high ISO interest.
  7. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    looks much nicer than my 50d at that iso setting...
  8. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I couldn't come close with my 30D
  9. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    As far as usable photos go, I wouldn't push the 50d past about 2000, but you really have to nail the exposure to come up with anything decent... on ISO800 or below, I don't even use noise reduction.
  10. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I use NR (Noiseware Pro) pretty much all the time towards the end of my workflow. It starts to make a difference as the ISO creeps above about 400 if I make large images. I routinely shoot the 7D at ISOs greater than 1000 as I like shooting birds in early am and late pm and my 300mm is an f/4 -- which goes to f5.6 when I add the 1.4X. I don't see myself using this ISO 12,800 often, but I wanted to experiment. What really was interesting to me is the auto-ISO function (which works up to ISO 3200). I don't have that on the 30D. I'm not a big one for using anything "auto" (I tend to shoot in manual mode), but I figured that it might give me one less thing to worry about when I'm chasing an elusive target. It actually works quite well.

    I'm told that CS5 has better noise reduction built-in which might obviate the need for Noiseware Pro.
  11. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I can't figure out how to use auto iso in manual mode... it just goes to 400 and stays there. I would love to use auto iso mode and not worry about setting the iso, as it is the least of my worries, compared with f-stop and shutter speed... especially when birding.
  12. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Birding is exactly what I wanted it for too. I've never used a 50D, so I can't help there. I did find out by accident that it won't take you above 3200 on the 7D. Is there an ISO 400 limit on auto-ISO on the 50D?
  13. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    hmmmm sounds like it might be time to break open the manual.



    I hate it when that happens.
  14. icassell
    Offline

    icassell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
  15. robertwsimpson
    Offline

    robertwsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, Fl
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    hm... since I don't have the owners manual, I did some webbing, and I think that autoISO on manual does indeed mean ISO400. shame. Maybe it will work in one of the other modes...

Share This Page