High Speed Film

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by benjyman345, Jul 15, 2007.

  1. benjyman345

    benjyman345 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,

    I have some ISO 3200 B&W film and was wondering should I set my camera to ISO 3200 or is it best to set the iso down. If so what should i set the iso too?

    thanks
     
  2. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You can go to the manufacturer's website, and see what the true speed is. Films labeled ISO 3200 are usually really ISO 800ish. You can shoot them anywhere between 800 and 3200, just let your lab know what speed you shot it at as there may be changes in the development time.
     
  3. benjyman345

    benjyman345 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.

    I will process it myself in the darkroom.

    Would be good to see what people suggest who have used this type of film. In particular Tmax 3200.
     
  4. benjyman345

    benjyman345 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just noticed the expiry date on the film (1995) Very out of date!!!!

    Is it worth using the film??
     
  5. ann

    ann No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    189
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    a lot will depend on how the film has been kept? Frozen, etc.

    the film losses speed with age, so it is going to be more difficult to figure out what EI should be used.

    I would not use it for anything important.
     
  6. nomade

    nomade TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alexandria, Egypt
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit

    Wooo 12 years old, I've an idea, why don't you try shooting the first 5 photos, and cut them of course be careful and develope them and see if it's worth it...
     
  7. benjyman345

    benjyman345 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im going to try the film out tomorow and I will set the camera to ISO800 considering it is an old film and has probably lost sensativety.

    I am looking for developing times for this film set at ISO 800 which will be developed using ilford id-11. The film box does not tell me developing times for this developer, but does give developing times for D76, which I believe is basically the same chemicals, but the box only lists dev times at iso 1600 and 3200 for D76.

    thanks

    P.s. Any advice, suggestions welcome...
     
  8. Helen B

    Helen B TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It will be safe to develop it at the times for EI 1600 if you shoot it at 800, especially that old. TMZ loses its speed faster than other films. I would be inclined to shoot it even a little lower than 800 because of the age. When fresh it is fine at EI 3200, or even higher. There are plenty of examples of it shot at EI 3200 at the second link in my signature - look for 'Pieces of Evidence' in the list of portfolios on the left hand side.

    As already mentioned, it is an ISO 800 or 1000 film when fresh. Whether it is ISO 800 or ISO 1000 depends on the developer. Kodak do not hide this fact, or make any claim that it is ISO 3200 film, by the way. I am unaware of any film that is labelled as an ISO 3200 film.

    Best,
    Helen
     
  9. benjyman345

    benjyman345 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if I shoot it at ISO 400, 500 or 640, I could then process it according to developing times for EI 1600???
     
  10. Helen B

    Helen B TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It would depend a lot on how it was stored, how much subject brightness range there is, whether you are scanning or wet printing, and your opinion about blown highlights (but this is 12 years out of date, so how high can your expectations be?). I have never tested TMZ that old, and almost all the TMZ I have ever used has been kept refrigerated. Maybe you should bracket your exposures between 500 and 1000.

    In general, even with fresh TMZ, it is safe to use the recommended times for one stop above the EI you shoot at. For a starting time, I would use the times for EI 6400 when shooting at EI 3200, for example.

    Good luck,
    Helen
     
  11. benjyman345

    benjyman345 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I am a little slow!

    What you are saying is... If you photograph it at iso 800 develop it at 1600 and if you photograph it at 1600 dev it at 3200?? am i correct?
     
  12. Helen B

    Helen B TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yes, that's where I would start. I would then adjust times based on experience gained from the first rolls.

    Best,
    Helen
     

Share This Page