Horizontal lines through photos?

Danyell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone.. I'm new here and I'll be the first to admit I'm a complete noob when it comes to photography. Before leaving on vacation, I recently purchased a Canon 400D / Rebel XTi.. In the following days I took a ton of (pretty awful) photos with it and upon uploading them to my computer I noticed all of the images had horizontal lines going through them. I have every intention of taking photography classes at the local community college but in the meantime I'm just messing around with my camera to get an idea of how it all works. So needless to say, the streaky photos were taken on a variety of different settings / indoors / outdoors. The lines occur even using the full auto settings. In some photos it's more obvious than others, but it's always there. Hopefully someone here can explain what I'm doing wrong.. I apologize in advance if it's something really stupid and simple! Haha.. Here are some examples of what's happening:

lines.jpg

Img_0282.jpg

and a less obvious one:
IMG_0157.jpg

Are these files from your camera to the computer, or are they scans? Because this looks like something wrong with a printer. If not then i would call up canon right away.

Sorry, I should have specified..the examples I posted are straight from the camera to my computer. So it looks like a camera problem and not user error?

Are these files from your camera to the computer, or are they scans? Because this looks like something wrong with a printer. If not then i would call up canon right away.

+1

It looks like consumer-quality printer-effect to me... NOT something that a camera should be doing! If these are the actual camera files, call Canon ASAP!

What memory card are you using?

Is it possible that the files are getting corrupted by the card somehow?