How about teleconverters?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by feRRari4756, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. feRRari4756

    feRRari4756 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I think I am going to be getting a 200mm lens.

    I would like it a little longer zoom wise, but its just so much money .

    SO, i am looking at teleconverters.

    With the 1.4x telecoverter, do it decrease quality in ANY WAY?

    How about with the 2.0x teleconverter?
     
  2. davebmck

    davebmck TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waxhaw, NC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    What camera and lens are you going to use it with? I got a canon 1.4 for christmas and I am returning it today. It wouldn't fit my 100mm macro and my 100-400mm wouldn't auto focus in bright light at full zoom, even after making the so called tape modification. You need a lens with a maximum aperture of f/4 or greater to use this teleconverter and probably the third party ones a well.

    As far a quality is concerned, it is possible to lose some sharpness with a telecoverter if it is not well made. That is the reason I went with the canon version, as it was made to be used with L class prime lenses.
     
  3. kundalini

    kundalini Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,601
    Likes Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    State of Confusion
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    :lmao:

    I just posted this thread. It is a 1.7 TC though. The reason I went with a 1.7 is because I didn't think the 1.4 was enough reach and the 2.0 was too much sacrifice of light and quality.
     
  4. gryphonslair99

    gryphonslair99 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,437
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yes you will loose some quality. You are putting an optical enhancemet that was built to work for several lenses. The amount depends on the quaity of the TC and the quality of the lens it is used with. Remember the TC will magnify any and all flaws in the lens. With the 2.0 you will loose even more quality than with the 1.4.

    You might want to read this post of mine in a thread by davebmck, reference the 1.4 TC from Canon since you do not state what lens you will be using it with.

    http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...eleconverter-af-modification.html#post1476465
     
  5. gryphonslair99

    gryphonslair99 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,437
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Can the OP get that in a Canon mount? :lol:
     
  6. feRRari4756

    feRRari4756 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I am going to use this with a newer canon with a minimun aperture of f/4.5

    and i will only buy the canon brand.
     
  7. Overread

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23,093
    Likes Received:
    3,762
    Location:
    UK - England
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    check the Canon website for the teleconverter and make sure that the lens that you want if for is listed as compatable - they are made for the L range of lenses only and they don't even fit every L lens either. This is due to a protruding element at the front of the teleconverters and thus you cannot connet non- compatable lenses to them. At that point you have to look at a 3rd party teleconverter - sigma make a 1.4 which is optically about the same in quality as the canon though the sigma 2* is maginally softer and also not a full 2* (closer to 1.95*)

    The only way to connect an uncompatable lens to TCs is to use extension tubes, but using them not only reduces your minimum focusing distance, but also removes your ability to focus at longer ranges so it somewhat defeats the point of using a TC most times.
     
  8. gryphonslair99

    gryphonslair99 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,437
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Make sure you take a look at this then.
    Canon Extender EF 1.4x II Compatibility Chart

    I have the Canon but I also had a Kenko 1.4 300DG in a Canon mount.
    Kenko | 1.4x Teleplus Pro 300 DG Teleconverter | K14PRO300DGN

    I think that it was as good as the Canon and the price is better. Just stay away from the cheaper 1.5 versions. You will notice a difference between them and the 1.4 from either Canon or Kenko.
     
  9. davebmck

    davebmck TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waxhaw, NC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The Canon 1.4 teleconverter will not auto focus with that lens or any other with a maximum aperture smaller than f/4. If it is compatible with your lens, you can use it in manual focus though.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

photo teleconverters