How are they doing their lighting? Help would be very appreciated

CaseJ

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everybody,
I was wondering if anyone could help decipher how Bvlgari are making their photos look so good. First off let me explain that I'm a jeweler and I have been taking photo's of my work with my normal Panasonic DMC-T73 which I realize is not the greatest to begin with. I would like to make a investment in equipment to help make my work look more professional. Here is a link of the photo's I'm talking about
Bvlgari
I was shopping around and I stumbled upon this site, which showed some of the equipment that you could use, but I'm looking for something a lot more serious (Didn't care for the black surface in this kit vs. Bvlgari) and I completely understand it won't be cheap. "Black Ice" Jewelry Photography Kit

So if you have any suggestions, or if you could point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

Product shots like these generally make use of light tents such as this Smith-Victor | Three Light Fluorescent Kit with | 402057 | B&H

As far as the actual lighting goes (e.g. number of lights, placement, etc) I can't answer that for you. There are several here who make a comfortable living doing it though who might happen upon your post.

A light tent does come in very handy when shooting jewlery .. I can't tell you exactly how the Bvlgari photos were shot because they did not use the same setup on each shot .. they used a lighting setup that worked best for each piece of jewelry. I would search around for some nice light tent kits .. or put one together yourself .. that black ice kit you linked to looked overpriced in my opinion.

1 - VERY soft and diffused lighting.

2 - Its not a point and shoot doing the shot, thats a guarantee.