How can I tell a good negative from a 'not so good'...(B&amp

jdmartin8

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Much like the next post in line here, I predominantly shoot black and white, and I think I would like to develop my own film (35mm), and then pick and choose which negatives to print.

My question is: What do I use to view the negatives, to determine the good ones from the junk? I don't have an enlarger, nor do I have any of the other dark room equipment.

I'm new to all of this, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks...

Jim

I'm newer to this than you, so excuse me if I'm wrong. :mrgreen:

I think you use a thing called a focus finder or a focus scope. It allows you to get a very close view of the negative so you can tell if it is in focus or not.

I think you're thinking of a grain focuser. That is used when you are using an enlarger. To view a negative, you'll need a light source (preferable a light box that is daylight balanced) and a Loupe. You can get a pretty decent loupe for a good price. Check the sponsors of this site FreeStyle and Adorama

Zach :D

Those are for grain focusing during printing, Ferny. I don't think they're used any other time, though I could be wrong. People come up with the funniest uses for items...

Usually, jd, I just hold up all my negatives and look at them one by one. If it's blocky and contrasty (or under/over exposed far too much), those are junk (depending on your intention for the shot). Overexposures are easier to work with, I think. The other thing I look for is sharpness, which if you have good eyes could be done with just a pair of eyes and a good light. That's pretty much how I decide which negatives to print, besides the obvious "oh this shot looks pretty" composition choice.

I thought they were used with an enlarger, but also thought they could be used with negs. It's nice to know the truth now. :)