How did you get your feet wet in wedding photography?

Ballistics

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
I had a teacher of mine ask me to shoot her wedding. Although flattered, I sincerely declined because I have zero experience shooting something like that.
How did you wedding photographers get into your trade? Did you apprentice under someone?

I started with my family... Shot my cousins wedding. Honestly, I did a mediocre job. I had a 50/1.4 and a Canon T1i with a 430EX. That was the entirety of my gear setup. Everything was very '50mm-ish'. A year later, I shot a friend of mine's wedding who REALLY REALLY wanted me to do it. I had a 5D, 50/1.4, and 85/1.4 at that point so I felt a bit more comfortable, and I rented a 35/1.4L too. My photographic skills had also progressed greatly over that year. I received good feedback, and looked at a lot more wedding photos after that.

This year, I shot a wedding and received even better feedback. It also helps if you shoot portraits, and people shots in your down time.

A lot of people do apprentice under people, or second shoot. I've tried to do that in this area, but haven't had any luck. So I've just been primary shooting. ;)

I got a job doing school photos for a studio. He had on person doing weddings. I started assisting on the week-ends for more money. Then in a few months I was a second shooter. Then a main photog after 2 years. I also have a degree from a 4 year college.

I did a few shots that were identical to weeding scenarios. For example I did this probono work for a fundraiser. http://usagani.com/p931762131I
I also did some model TFP to get my self ready for wedding formal. Then I found a wedding gig on Craigslist for $200 lol. She wanted someone like me. She then tipped me $100 after seeing the result.