Forkie

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
www.ianforknall.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
If you have one that is!!

Are you self employed/Freelance with a client base, working for a single company on a freelance contract, on a single company's payroll? Or any other type of photography employment?

Now, I'm by no means a professional photographer, I'd barely have the guts to call myself an amateur yet, so I was really lucky to get my job as a Product Photographer.

I went for an interview for my company for an administration job, and in the interview we happened to get chatting about photography because they spotted it on my CV as an interest. I didn't get the job I went for, but about 6 weeks later they called me asked if I would like to work for them as a product photographer.

After some pay negotiations I said "yes", and was given the choice of going on a freelance contract or being put on their payroll.

I chose to go on their payroll, basically because I can't be bothered to sort out my own taxes and it gives me more security whilst I build up some experience for a couple of years before looking for a more adventurous job in the field.

It's not the most creative or exciting area of photography, but at least when someone asks me what I do, I can say "I'm photographer, don'tya know!".

How did you start your photography career and where are you now?

You would barely call yourself amateur, but you've taken a job as a "professional" photographer.

Right...

You would barely call yourself amateur, but you've taken a job as a "professional" photographer.

Right...

What I mean by that is that my level of experience of photography as a hobby before getting this job would not be anywhere near enough to label myself as an accomplished amateur, let alone a professional. Before this job I was quite definitely a hobbyist, not an amateur photographer (which I think implies a higher degree of knowledge and experience).