How did you learn portrait photography?

Conner41

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone. I have been admiring all these photos in this section and wanted to post a thread to get a generalization on how you all get started in portrait photography? Education wise? Self taught or formal schooling of some sort? What books can you suggest?

I'm really inspired with your work here. I don't have any portrait experience yet, I have mainly been working on landscape photos and macro stuff. Feel free to take a look at my photos (signature) and pass some tips :thumbup::thumbup:

Conner

P.S. Do you guys recommend those portrait software programs? Or is that considered cheating?

Are you writing a book? Seems like a lot of gathering from you.

Are you writing a book? Seems like a lot of gathering from you.

Seriously? That is your response? I was inspired by much of the work in here, I was feeling pretty motivated about wanting to finally learn more about portrait photography and how others got their skills.

Your statement is flat out rude. How do you expect new people to read that response of yours and want to stick around here? If you have nothing nice to say or answering a thread is to much for you, why make yourself look like that? Just go to the next.

He may just be asking a question.

My answer: Practice, practice, practice. Get friends to take photos. Learn composition. Understand exposure. Learn the basics of Photoshop.

OK thanks guys. :thumbup::thumbup: I really appreciate your feedback. No report being written. I'm just super motivated and figured "hey why not ask" on here. What is the worst someone can say? Well other than telling me I'm asking to much! ha ha ha

I personally hate taking portraits ... but I will give my 2 cents.

I learned portrait photography in College ... and the two key things that I learned about it is:

- learn about (posing) the human body and its views