How do I balance the exposure?

BrettG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm still a photo newbie. My main preferance is landscape shots, so I've taken my camera with me when going out on hikes and such to hopefully catch some nice shots. I have gotten a few, but I notice a constant trend in my pictures. There's almost always a part of my picture that's washed out. Most frequently it seems to be the sky; what I see as a clear, bright sky turns up really white on my pictures. I tried compensating for this today by shortening the exposure length, but then the rest of the picture, excluding the sky, seemed a bit hazy and underexposed. I really think I could drastically improve the quality of my shots if I could fix this problem.

Makes me almost wish I'd have gotten a digital camera instead of a 35mm, I could probably figure this out then.

BrettG said:
Makes me almost wish I'd have gotten a digital camera instead of a 35mm, I could probably figure this out then.

Actually, digital cameras have less dynamic range than most films (at least for now), so your problem would be worse. Unless you are taking 2 exposures, and combining them in PS.

You could try a polarizing filter or a split neutral density filter. Both of these can be used to darken the sky.

Measure your important shadows and important highlights. By important I mean you want pretty much full detail. If the difference is 6 or more stops this is high contrast lighting, and that's the problem you are describing.

What kind of film are you using?

ksmattfish said:
Actually, digital cameras have less dynamic range than most films (at least for now), so your problem would be worse. Unless you are taking 2 exposures, and combining them in PS.

You could try a polarizing filter or a split neutral density filter. Both of these can be used to darken the sky.