how do i get photography jobs?

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by smashleymae, May 13, 2009.

1. smashleymae

smashleymae TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    So i am kinda new to photography.. i am really trying to get into but i cant seem to get people who want their picture taken. the only people i can get pictures of are my nieces who are 4 and 5. i dont know how to get out and around to getting people. i have posted on myspace and facebook.. but none of my friends took me up on the offer.

i am in maine.. soo if anyone else is and they can help me out that would be fantastic..

i just need some ideas on how to get myself out there..

THANKS

2. JamieR

JamieR TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    What many photographers do is get out there, knock on peoples doors and ask if they would like family portraits doing, I'm not sure if its the same over there but here in the UK its very popular.

3. bdavis

bdavis TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I put ads on craigslist offering free photoshoots for a limited time so I can build up my portfolio....shooting a band this weekend.

4. In His Image

In His Image TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I would deffinately do the add on craigslist. How I got started was I did a shoot of a friend of mine and put it on my blog and facebook and I got quite a bit from that. It has been all people that I know with the exception of one since then. But hey I still make the money and they have told other people and I have a shoot coming up at the end of this month with complete strangers so, I am excited about that!!

5. bdavis

bdavis TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Exactly. Get your name out there, do some free shoots with people, friends, family, whatever. You just have to have something to show...thats the bottom line. If anyone is going to hire you in the future, they want to know that you can get the shots.

6. JE Kay

JE Kay TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit