how do i get photography jobs?

smashleymae

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So i am kinda new to photography.. i am really trying to get into but i cant seem to get people who want their picture taken. the only people i can get pictures of are my nieces who are 4 and 5. i dont know how to get out and around to getting people. i have posted on myspace and facebook.. but none of my friends took me up on the offer.

i am in maine.. soo if anyone else is and they can help me out that would be fantastic..

i just need some ideas on how to get myself out there..

THANKS

What many photographers do is get out there, knock on peoples doors and ask if they would like family portraits doing, I'm not sure if its the same over there but here in the UK its very popular.

I put ads on craigslist offering free photoshoots for a limited time so I can build up my portfolio....shooting a band this weekend.

I would deffinately do the add on craigslist. How I got started was I did a shoot of a friend of mine and put it on my blog and facebook and I got quite a bit from that. It has been all people that I know with the exception of one since then. But hey I still make the money and they have told other people and I have a shoot coming up at the end of this month with complete strangers so, I am excited about that!!

Exactly. Get your name out there, do some free shoots with people, friends, family, whatever. You just have to have something to show...thats the bottom line. If anyone is going to hire you in the future, they want to know that you can get the shots.

Improve your skills more for this craft by going outside and shooting. If you don't know people who can pose for you for your portrait shots, you may consider doing street photography, shooting everyday people doing their everyday routines. Good luck!

Cheers!

Captain Kimo

Welcome to the forum!