How do I start? Portraits...

keith204

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok I am an auto racing photographer, and I admit... you portrait people are the ones with the talent!

During this off-season, I would like to get into portraits. I know a lot of young kids from church from working in the nursery, and I am a college student, so I know a lot of engaged couples. All that to say, I would like to get into: 1) kid portraits and 2) engagement portraits

But where do I start?

My setup:
I do have the equip... a 50mm f/1.8, a 70-200 f/2.8, 2 strobes, 2 umbrellas, etc...
I don't don't have the studio, and don't plan to have one anytime soon.
I do have a room in my house I can add a backdrop to.

So, the question still exists... where do I start?? Any tips for a beginner?

Location, Location, Location.

Go location scouting where you think good scenes would be and shoot them outdoors!

It's a ton of fun, and it's not claustrophobic. I do about 75% of my portraits outdoors with my wee little SB-600, and I get fantastic results.

You can do neat tricks like under or overexposing your background a stop or two, you can put gels on the light to play with colors and white balances, you can do alot.

Dont stress about a studio. More and more people are wanting their portraits on location. I am strictly a location portrait photographer because A: I enjoy very few studio shots and B: I dont have the space where I live right now. What I'm finding with my customers is that they want the photo journalistic style of portraits now, nothing too posed or studioish. Best of Luck, there are lots of photos to be taken out there!!

oh, and if you can, use props. It makes it easier on you and the subject to be able to tell them what to do.

oh, and if you can, use props. It makes it easier on you and the subject to be able to tell them what to do.