How does Sony a7II spot meter if vintage lenses are mounted?

Vicky12

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Please excuse me if my questions are silly for I am really a newbie.

I bought a DSLR w/2 zoom lenses about 20 months ago. I recently watched a few videos talking about the features of old fashion film lenses. And I have been very much attracted.

Around 2 weeks ago, I purchased a Sony a7II and a few vintage lenses. And have to learn everything from the scratches.

When I Google for information about the a7II or any mirrorless cameras, easy to find pages of teaching writings and videos on subject of FOCUSING, but extremely rare any info for HOW THESE CAMERAS PERFORM METERING when vintage lenses are mounted.
Why is this, please?

Thanks.​

I have only used non Sony lenses on mine and would say they meter like any other lens fitted its the camera that meters not the lens

I have only used non Sony lenses on mine and would say they meter like any other lens fitted its the camera that meters not the lens

The a7II has a spot meter at the center.
Questions about this spot meter:
1. What angle is this spot meter, 1 or 3 or 5 degrees?
2. Can it be moved or relocated to anywhere within the frame and perform metering there?

Thanks.

Don't know just take a reading and lock exposure I usually use my handheld meter because I shoot it alongside my Leica film cameras

Spot arc depends on focal length when metered through the lens. TTL spot metering is specified in percentage of frame, generally 10%, iirc. But this doesn't mean a whole lot until you have lens.

The spot may be moveable, but in my experience with my fuji this is pretty useless. Makes more sense to just move the camera. Maybe with a tripod?